Free tours of St. Peter Catholic Church are offered the first Saturday of the month (1–4 p.m.), and upon request. The parish was founded in 1840 by Dominican Friars.
Tours for school groups provide a wider architectural scope, Tennessee history and references to the neighboring Magevney House, Shelby County Courthouse, as well as the church and its St. Martin de Porres Shrine Chapel. To arrange a school tour call 901-484-2330.
One of the oldest buildings in continuous use in the city, St. Peter’s contains a wealth of art, stained glass, historical plaques, a restored pipe organ and other items reflecting the rich history of Memphis and its people. During epidemics of yellow fever and cholera, several Dominican Friars and Sisters perished while caring for victims. The parish was instrumental in founding St. Peter Orphanage, St. Agnes Academy, Christian Brothers College (now High School and University) and Siena College. The present church (built 1852-1855), the second on the site, was designed by renowned architect Patrick Charles Keely. It is built of hand-made bricks covered in stucco to resemble stone. Stained glass windows by the Munich firm Franz Meyer encircle the sanctuary.
For more information cal Jane Scharding Smedley at 901-527- 8282, ext. 15.